Welcome back me

I haven’t written anything in a long while. Truth be told I have thought about it a fair few times but haven’t really had the willingness nor time to write my feelings on here. But tonight I feel compelled to. So here goes…

I have had an eventful few months. Totally random. I have gone completely out of my comfort zone multiple times. (not to mention 3 bouts of tonsillitis!)

In December I went to the Alps (Tignes) by myself and stay with a somebody I had only met twice before. I arranged it all myself and did the journey alone. I faced many difficulties on the way, such as understanding accents in the airport, being paranoid I was on the wrong flight, not being able to hear the announcements properly and worrying it was something important. But it all went reasonably smoothly. Better than I thought.

Actually being in the Alps however wasn’t so smooth sailing. I tried my hardest to keep a positive outlook on the whole thing but at times it was very testing. The accommodation was dirty and small and f***** freezing with no heating (-5 degrees inside) and the various different people coming and going made me feel extremely unsettled. Most were not very friendly, which may be down to the fact that they are here for the ski season and I was just visiting, and also the fact that they cannot be bothered with “the deaf girl”- I overheard these words.

I had a few great nights out though and met some great French people, and learning to snowboard definitely threw me straight out of my comfort zone further (I wasn’t great at it- but hey its harder than it looks!!!)

The journey back to Geneva airport at 3am in the heavy snow in an old car was one of the scariest experiences of my life. My “friend” slammed on the breaks but it was useless. We slipped and slided down the mountain- the handbreak proved to be useless also. We had a couple of near misses, almost plummeting down the mountain side and colliding with other big trucks coming up. Definitely not an experience I would like to repeat!

Although my trip was a rocky one, it spurred something inside me to travel solo. I know I can do it and can come out the other side of a testing period of my life. So when I got home, I booked a month backpacking around Spain, starting in Barcelona. I leave on the 21st of February! I’m terrified but extremely excited. I know I will experience a huge array of emotions and discomfort, but I need to experience this. I don’t want to be the deaf girl who clings on to home life anymore.

I have also learnt something which is probably the most valuable lesson these last two months. I am finally embracing my deafness and becoming more relaxed about telling people. I believe that my month trip around Spain will round it off nicely- with increased confidence and a stronger deaf identity.

I pray everyone is having a great 2017 so far. Sending love and light xxx

5 thoughts on “Welcome back me

      1. That’s how it is and I’m exactly the same.
        I love the planning, decision making stuff as the anticipation builds.
        Then comes that weird feeling just before I set off, a mix of excitement and apprehension, actually I hate that “just before” moment!
        …..and then I’m on the road, just me and my bike and I’m in heaven!

  1. Please do blog about your experiences travelling around Spain! I have been studying French and Spanish at university and I really hope to gather up the courage to go travelling on my own in France and Spain in the next year. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

